Ohio Craft Brewers Tap New Board Members

In voting that took place in June, the member breweries of the Ohio Craft Brewers Association elected five representatives to the group’s board of directors. Ali Hovan of HiHO Brewing Co. in Cuyahoga Falls was elected to a third term on the board and elevated to vice-president to succeed Jimmy Stockwell of Little Fish Brewing. Stockwell is term-limited after six years of board service, the last four as vice-president.

“I am grateful to be able to continue to serve on the OCBA board and have a voice for northeast Ohio beer and other small, family-owned breweries like HiHO,” Hovan remarked. “I look forward to working on continued modernization of Ohio’s alcohol laws and helping to make the craft brewing industry more equitable for all.”

READ MORE: Making Your Fundraising Campaign a Success​

Adam Benner of Land-Grant Brewing Company in Columbus was re-elected to a second term as Ohio Craft Brewers Association treasurer. First elected in 2020, Benner has successfully guided the non-profit association through the turbulent financial effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, including the cancellation of two years’ worth of fundraising events.

In addition to Stockwell, two other members of the board will be stepping down due to term limits. John Haggerty of Warped Wing Brewing was first elected in 2016 and has served on the association’s advocacy, equity & inclusion, finance and safety committees. Mark Hunger of Great Lakes Brewing Company has also served on the board since 2016 and sat on the education and events committees. Haggerty and Hunger jointly developed the recipe for the inaugural From the Heart collaboration IPA in 2021, a statewide fundraiser for the Ohio Craft Brewers Association.

To succeed the departing members, three candidates were elected to their first terms on the board. Steve Forman of Great Lakes Brewing Company in Cleveland, Jason Moore of Crooked Handle Brewing in Springboro and Jamey Ratcliff of Sixth Sense Brewing in Jackson will assume their seats effective August 1, 2022.

“With more than 400 breweries in the state, we’re very fortunate to have so many people willing to lend their expertise and insight for the good of the entire brewing industry,” said Mary MacDonald, executive director of the Ohio Craft Brewers Association. “Our board is made up of representatives from Ohio’s largest and smallest breweries, those based in urban centers and those in small, rural communities, breweries with decades of experience and some that are relatively new. Those many perspectives help us to find a common purpose that benefits all of Ohio’s independently-owned breweries.”

Each of the five elected members of the board of directors will serve a two-year term expiring in August 2024.

Photo credit: HiHO Brewing Co.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *